About the Mid Mon Valley Transit Authority

The Mid Mon Valley Transit Authority (MMVTA) was created in 1985. MMVTA was created at the time when the steel industry collapsed and the already-depressed local economy was further devastated.

Three private companies were providing some transit service, but were on the brink of closing. However, the 1980 Census found for the first time that 22 Mid Monongahela River Valley communities located in Washington, Westmoreland, and Fayette Counties qualified as the Monessen Urbanized Area.

As an Urbanized Area, these communities qualified to receive federal and state transit operating assistance. MMVTA was created to be the designated recipient of these monies and to insure that transit services could continue.

MMVTA was organized under the Pennsylvania Municipalities Incorporation Act of 1945, as amended. All 22 of the eligible communities formed the Authority and so became eligible to be represented on the Board. Presently 21 municipalities are members.

The mission of MMVTA is to provide transit services for its member municipalities and help revitalize the Mid Mon Valley. A 21-member board governs MMVTA. Each member municipality appoints its representative. The board member must be a taxpayer in, maintain a business in, or be a citizen of the municipality being represented.

The Board meets monthly, usually the fourth Thursday of each month at the MMVTA Transit Center in Charleroi at 6 PM.

MMVTA is a non-operating authority. MMVTA’s driver, maintenance and other vehicle support service are competitively bid to a private contractor. Currently, MMVTA’s transit contractor is MV Transportation.

The following local communities are members of the Authority and have a board seat:
Rostraver Township, Roscoe Borough, City of Monongahela, North Belle Vernon Borough,Dunlevy Borough, Allenport Borough, California Borough, Donora Borough, Belle Vernon Borough, Charleroi Borough, Speers Borough, City of Monessen, Washington Township, New Eagle Borough,Fayette City Borough, Stockdale Borough, Coal Center Borough, North Charleroi Borough,Fallowfield Township, Carroll Township and Elco Borough